This is the old version of PriceSpy. Return to the new PriceSpy site

Payment options

Credit card
Direct payment
Invoice
Installment
Prepayment
SMS payment
Cash on delivery
Bitcoin
PayPal

Please tell us if you find anything incorrect.

This shop is located in New Zealand. Prices are shown in NZD. You can communicate with this shop in English.

Detailed information PriceSpy members have rated Playtech (4.58)
  •  
    Click on a star to rate
You must be logged in to leave a review

Order by:
  • 5 days ago
    This user review is under investigation
  • Very Poor
    2 months ago
    The fact that this company has no phone service available alone shows things can go really stressful when it does not need to be. Still waiting for a refund to process and it has been a week after they said they will process the refund "as soon as possible".
  • Very Poor
    2 months ago
    Would give 0 star if I could.
    Used the contact form to ask them if they had a specific monitor I was after. They replied 11:22 am "That one is available from our suppliers, if you can order ASAP today, we can have it shipped out from them before they close."
    I made an order in five minutes, received order confirmation at 11:27 am and they said "i am sorry to let you know the AOC Agon AG322FCX1 you order is end of life, we can't get this model anymore. is any other model you looking for or you would like to refund please?"
    I asked for the phone number, they are not giving me. I should have known when there was no contact number on the website or anywhere. There is one on the invoice, it only has automated messages to email them. Won't trade with these people ever again.
  • Perfect
    3 months ago
    Great service. They checked my order and found a component wasn't right. Suggested different option. Appreciate the care. Delivery speedy with courier post. Cheers.
  • 3 months ago
    This user review is under investigation
  • 4 months ago
    Updated: 4 months ago
    This user review is under investigation
  • Very Poor
    4 months ago
    Horrible store. Brought a motherboard 3 weeks ago, arrived faulty. We knew was the issue was but they claimed it was something else. I had a PC technician look at it. Took them a week to claim they had "received" it when the track and trace proved it was delivered. Took them 4 days to come to the conclusion it had been mishandled. I don't understand how it could have been mishandled if it was booting up it was just freezing. They refuse to replace, refund or send the motherboard back. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE and I would not recommend buying from this website.
  • Very Poor
    5 months ago
    Updated: 5 months ago
    one of chinese staff sucha... trash service never respect customer a lot of faulty products . slow service no way wil never use again
  • Very Poor
    6 months ago
    Poor customer service. Ordered an item, after a week I tried to contact by phone but it hangs up straight away. Then used the chat service to talk to someone who said there was a 2 week delay on the item. I wouldn't have been so annoyed if they have emailed me a week ago saying this rather then me having to chase them up. Very poor customer service and order process. Will not be returning.
  • Very Poor
    7 months ago
    Horrible customer service, and the majority of their products can be found cheaper on another NZ Company.
  • Barely acceptable
    8 months ago
    Updated: 8 months ago
    If you purchase products based on customer reviews, be leery of Playtech not publishing reviews that might hurt their sales of a particular product. I submitted a product review several times via their website and it was never published. The review was honest and subjective but did not recommend purchasing the product. An email inquiring as to why my review was not published went unanswered. Customer Service appears to be going downhill since moving to their new location. As a longtime Playtech loyal customer, I am now questioning that loyalty.
  • Barely acceptable
    8 months ago
    Watch out - cynical pricing practices used! Playtech often have a 'super special' promotions (like "20% off!") but in reality a week or two prior they have pushed the price up by 15%+. For example look at their price trace for "Logitech Z906" - it swings up and down by ~$200 every couple of weeks, and when on special still more expensive than others. Also offer 'specials' like 20% off Fractal Design, but when you go and look on site everything still the same price with no discount or promo codes provided. Also seem to take a long time to ship these days....they used to be good but I think they are beginning to lose it...
  • Perfect
    10 months ago
    Fast service, good price.
  • Perfect
    12 months ago
    Awesome service would recommend. very fast and helpful with a replacement when a monitor i ordered had some problems
  • 2019-06-05 - One year ago. User reviews before this time are not included in the rating.

  • Perfect
    1 year ago
    Fast service, no hassles
  • Perfect
    1 year ago
    I've purchased parts for a couple of high end gaming/workstation builds through Playtech now, and while i don't have anything too interesting to say about my experiences; the orders have always been processed and couriered out very quickly. Stock levels and delivery time frames given have always been accurate.
  • Excellent
    1 year ago
    Shopped here over the Christmas period very nice showroom helpful staff the hard drive I bought was a great price this store is one of the better high end stores in Auckland.
  • Very good
    1 year ago
    Great store and sales support. Competitive pricing and also has Oxipay/Laybuy available. Haven't had any gripe especially since I mostly do pick ups. Wish they were closer to the city though.
  • Excellent
    1 year ago
    Great shop. Fast, reliable, and competitive pricing.
  • Perfect
    2 years ago
    They've always been fast and friendly. There are emails at every step of the process that make it really clear what's going on. I like the various payment options, including Online Eftpos that uses your bank's app rather than dodgy Poli.
  • Perfect
    9 years ago
    Updated: 2 years ago
    PlayTech has been always consistant with excellent services and product range.

    - Competitive Price
    - Excellent Customer Service
    - Good Product Range
    - Fast shipping and excellent tracking information

    Thumbs Up!
  • Perfect
    2 years ago
    Updated: 2 years ago
    Top-notch store!
    Great phone customer service.
    FAST dispatch of parts.
    But best of all, which sets them apart from the main large competitors: reliability of information. If they say something is in stock, then it's in stock. If they say they'll get it shipped out today, then it'll happen.
  • Perfect
    2 years ago
    Updated: 2 years ago
    fast and efficient, too bad about credit card surcharges but at least it's instant rather than waiting for funds to clear...
  • Perfect
    2 years ago
    Updated: 2 years ago
    Preferred PC parts store. Excellent customer service on the phone and via email. Refunded a power supply that started to die after a year of use. Have even managed to get small discounts in store and free shipping. Courier seems relatively quick too.
  • Perfect
    2 years ago
    Updated: 2 years ago
    Not only did I receive my order in good time, and communication from them was great - was updated on each stage of the process.
  • Perfect
    2 years ago
    Updated: 2 years ago
    I've recently placed three orders with Playtech. Each one was problem-free and fast. They are one of my first go-to vendors for computer parts and peripherals.
  • Perfect
    3 years ago
    Updated: 3 years ago
    Really happy for the service - contact was great and items delivered the next day as stated.
  • Perfect
    3 years ago
    Updated: 3 years ago
    put in a large order. One device was DOA. The support staff were extremely helpful in correcting the issue and had a replacement to me extremely quickly. It was a really good experience with what could have been a difficult situation. Bit disappointed about the CC surcharge and higher shipping prices compared to several years ago, but still great retailer.
  • Terrible
    3 years ago
    Updated: 3 years ago
    Ordered a gpu played $25 extra to have it shipped to me within two days well it's been five days now and still no GPU also there website stated that if I made payment before a certain time that it would be shipped that day and on top of that my $25 got me economy post a three day service oh and a $25 charge for using a credit card lost them self a customer here P.B tech for the win!
  • Hi Jase,
    Really sorry about this, I'll have someone chase it up and contact you ASAP.

  • Perfect
    3 years ago
    Updated: 3 years ago
    Good price for my 32GB DDR4 RAM and fast delivery with great tracking.
  • Good
    6 years ago
    Updated: 3 years ago
    Recently, in the last few orders i've purchased from them, service has been excellent. So it has definitely improved compared to my previous experiences. I had a DoA microphone which they promptly sent a courier ticket over so I could ship it back, a gesture that other companies often do not do. I think follow up could be worked on slightly better though understandable since they're quite busy.

    Update: Well I guess it's only a matter of time before you hit a downhill bump, taking a few stars off for some pretty dodgy customer service practices.
  • Perfect
    3 years ago
    Updated: 3 years ago
    Bought one day, delivered the next - super fast with no complaints.
  • Terrible
    3 years ago
    Updated: 3 years ago
    Good to deal with until you have a warranty claim. Was given the run around and lied to for a month while trying to get a replacement of a 2month old motherboard then the replacement was 2nd hand covered in dust and bent. Was then lied to some more and when I questioned there lies they brush it off like nothings happened. Sata ports intermittently work, tried to get a refund as per the consumer gaurantees act but they wouldnt honour it. Now have a 2nd hand motherboard that I would struggle to sell as it would no doubt come back to me and am $219 out of pocket. Will never deal with them again.
  • Perfect
    3 years ago
    Updated: 3 years ago
    Can't seem to stop buying stuff from here. People are friendly, very professional, always honour warranty. Its my first go to place for any PC gear. Never been let down on customer service or warranty fulfillment.
  • Very good
    4 years ago
    Updated: 4 years ago
    Problem free online shopping, Have used them numerous times over the past few years.
  • Perfect
    4 years ago
    Updated: 4 years ago
    Looked at the reviews on Pricespy on this store and it seemed to have great reviews so I ordered on a Friday, close to midnight so it took until Monday (next business day) to process. The items were delivered on the Tuesday so it was a quick delivery. This store also had the cheapest prices for some of the items I was looking for. They kept me updated via email about the status of the items and provided a CourierPost tracking link which was very handy. Overall I would definitely buy again from this store if I wanted to buy again.
  • Perfect
    4 years ago
    Updated: 4 years ago
    Was the cheapest choice and even though I ordered at 4pm the order made it to Dunedin by 8:30am!
  • Perfect
    4 years ago
    Updated: 4 years ago
    Really great, kept up-to-date via email, fast and reliable and affordable postage. Would definitely recommend, just great over-all.
  • Excellent
    4 years ago
    Updated: 4 years ago
    Great service and fast postage. Easy to order and very affordable.
    I definitely recommend it!
  • Perfect
    4 years ago
    Updated: 4 years ago
    Great service, kept in touch with emails.
    Ordered a monitor on Thursday, i got the monitor this morning. An email was sent to me as soon as my colleague signed parcel.
    I would buy from this shop again
  • Excellent
    4 years ago
    Updated: 4 years ago
    Just got an email from them specialing this HDD for you guessed it $125 down from the usual price of $139 so you save $14... Well according to pricespy you have only sold this hdd for $139 for one month in 2015 as the original price when first stocked was $119 and from then on it has been up and down like a yoyo in price so who you trying to fooling....
  • Hi Athlonite,
    First off, thanks for the great review, but to shed some light on the pricing issues:
    Hard drive pricing is tied to the exchange rate at the time we place our order with the supplier so prices fluctuate all over the place between shipments.
    Our sales are then based on discounting the item against the RRP of the item at that current point in time, We try our best to give our customers the best price but sometimes if the exchange rate takes a dive there's not a lot we can do :(

    Hopefully that clears things up!

  • Excellent
    4 years ago
    Updated: 4 years ago
    They have very good customer service, would buy again.
  • Excellent
    7 years ago
    Updated: 4 years ago
    I have been purchasing off Playtech for over 3 years.

    They very often price match, meaning their customers can get the best value.
    The staff are very knowledgeable, in both fixing errors, and PC Building.
    Both New/Old stores are very clean and professional.
    They are open on weekends, making it useful for Full-Time Working Customers.
    The staff are very friendly and helpful. Especially Jarrod, who has fixed multiple issues over the years, including refund/warranty of items.
    (my old review was about this. See below.)

    The only negatives would be the store location being so far from where I live, and the website being a bit old school. (Check out https://themes.shopify.com/?Industry=Electronics)

    Thanks again to Playtech. 9/10

    - Johnny
    ------------------------------------------------------
    Old Review:
    I purchased a razer tiamat 7.1 Surround Sounds headset off Playtech in September 2012. It was shipped and delivered within a few days. Emails about item progress was very helpful.
    The headset started failing around Late March 2013 (left rear speaker cut out).
    I called Playtech, and was asked to fill out a RMA form for the headset.
    After filling the form out (electronically), I emailed to them. Within a few hours, I was asked to drop the headset off at Playtech.

    A few days later, I went down, and got it looked at, and it was confirmed it was faulty.
    So it was with a brand new one.
    The staff at Playtech were informative and professional. The RMA service was easy and helpful.
    And now, I can enjoy the brand new feeling of the headset in 2012.

    9/10
    ------------------------------------------------------
  • Good
    5 years ago
    Updated: 5 years ago
    Good
  • Perfect
    5 years ago
    Updated: 5 years ago
    Great deals. Email updates on every process, loved it. Very fast delivery.
  • Perfect
    5 years ago
    Updated: 5 years ago
    great online shopping experience. amazing low price and fast delivery.
  • Very good
    5 years ago
    Updated: 5 years ago
    Professional, attractive site with great prices. Order was handled quickly and delivery within 48 hours competently packaged and hassle-free. Would recommend.
  • Perfect
    5 years ago
    Updated: 5 years ago
    Bought a phone which had a factory fault with the microphone. I took it in and Playtech replaced it on the spot after verifying the fault. No messing around - just great service!
  • Perfect
    5 years ago
    Updated: 5 years ago
    Holy Mother of Mary! Playtech's "Product and Category Manager" Greg Burrows actually reads the email on a Sunday morning...

    Whoah, duuuuuude....

    I gotta admire his dedication.
  • Perfect
    5 years ago
    Updated: 5 years ago
    Bought a brother printer from this site. Price was very compitive. Arrived in wellington quickly. Had a small issue with not having a USB cable, but they sorted that out very quickly. I would recomend this company.